Beauty

This is a Lie.

This is not me. This is a lie. This is an over-edited photo of myself with enhanced lighting, contrast, and highlights. This is a mask with fake blush, lipstick, and eyelashes. I am blurred. I am smudged. I am nonexistent.

How many of you thought I looked pretty? That my skin looked flawless? That my eyes were shimmering? Me too. Maybe you wanted to look like that. Maybe you wanted that perfect makeup. Maybe you wanted your skin to be that clear. So did I.

This is a lie.

And since we are on a roll, I am going to keep lying to you. Sound good?

  1. I am in shape.
  2. I wear designer clothing.
  3. I have a collection of Naked, Urban Decay, and Sephora makeup.
  4. I never get acne.
  5. I drink a power smoothie and eat a salad every day.
  6. I love reading beauty magazines.
  7. I don’t think I fit anyone’s beauty standards.
  8. I hate the way I look.

Remember those are all lies. So, if I am being honest with you, everything would be reversed.

  1. I am out of shape.
  2. I wear regular clothes.
  3. I don’t own a lot of makeup.
  4. I get acne, often.
  5. I am not that healthy of an eater.
  6. I detest beauty magazines.
  7. I think I am beautiful.
  8. I love myself the way I am.

I am a standard human being, nothing spectacular, but that is okay. I have accepted that I do not go above and beyond to make myself look attractive. I wear a subtle amount of makeup, and it’s a good day if I straighten my hair. I don’t completely disregard my body, though–I know to eat my fruits and veggies, and I like to make myself look nice and presentable. I have room for improvement, too. However, looks are not my top priority.

For those who do work out regularly and have a healthy diet, that’s seriously awesome. For those who do use a generous amount of makeup and dress to impress, that’s also great. Here’s the point I am getting at, what ever your habits may be: may they be done with self-love and self-confidence. Eventually, you have to learn to accept and appreciate yourself. You are the only one who can give yourself the love and validation you deserve.

You only get one body. This body shelters your heart, your brain, your lungs. Your body is a shell that protects everything that is important about you. You can breathe, you can love, and you can think because of your body. Of course, you have to take care of your body because it holds your life.

If you are walking along a shore and a seashell washes up at your feet, you will pick it up and inspect it. The details are intricate, the colors are vibrant. But you get even more excited when you realize that there is still a living clam inside of it. Right? Because the life inside the shell is more breathtaking than its protection.

Be okay with your shell. Be more than okay with your shell.

I am okay with this.

This is the truth.

img_8225

One thought on “This is a Lie.

Leave a comment